Do you know someone who deserves to be recognized for his or her work? The American College of Clinical Engineering (ACCE) is accepting nomination for its annual awards. The nominations are due by January 17. Award recipients will be named at the HIMSS/ACCE meeting in Orlando in February and at the AAMI/ACCE meeting in Philadelphia in June.

Since 1999, ACCE has been honoring individuals and groups who have made a difference in the field. “My favorite day of the year in the 3 years I’ve had the privilege of doing this is calling people and letting them know they’ve won,” says Advocacy Committee chair Tom Judd. The committee’s 12 members review upward of 40 applicants for the ten award categories.

The awards have evolved since their inception to reflect a changing field. “For example, in recent years, we started the international award,” Judd says. The newest award is the ACCE HTM Champion Award, which recognizes a physician who has helped advance the profession.

Members of ACCE can nominate anyone—members or nonmembers—by emailing a nomination form to the committee. Descriptions of the awards, the nomination form, and contact information can be found here.

Award categories include:

  • ACCE 2013 Challenge Award
  • ACCE 2013 Tom O’Dea Advocacy Award
  • ACCE/HTF 2013 Marv Shepherd Patient Safety Award
  • ACCE 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award
  • ACCE 2013 Professional Achievement in Management Award/Managerial Excellence Award
  • ACCE 2013 Student Paper Competition
  • ACCE 2013 Antonio Hernandez International Clinical Engineering Award
  • ACCE / HTF 2013 International ACEW Award
  • ACCE HTM Champion 2013 Award
  • AAMI Foundation & ACCE’s Robert L. Morris Humanitarian Award