AAMI announced the winners of several 2024 AAMI Awards. Scheduled to be presented at the inaugural AAMI/FDA neXus conference on medical device standards, these awards recognize individuals who have made contributions to the science and standards that help ensure the safety and efficacy of medical devices and optimal patient care outcomes.

The awards include:

  • The Standards Developer Award: Awarded to individuals who have contributed to the production of AAMI guidance documents.
  • The Sterilization Science Award: An entirely new AAMI award established to recognize substantial contributions to the science and practice of healthcare sterilization, sterility assurance and contamination control.
  • The AAMI Technical Committee Award: Presented to AAMI committees that have contributed to the development or revision of specific standards or guidance documents.

The awards will be conferred on February 21, during the upcoming AAMI/FDA neXus. Co-sponsored by the U.S. FDA, neXus will be held from February 20-22, 2024, and feature agency and industry experts presenting the latest on medical device standards and regulations.

Standards Developers:

  • Terra Kremer, director of microbiological quality, Johnson & Johnson
  • Alpa N. Patel, director of scientific improvement at Nelson Laboratories
  • Commander Keith Marin, safety signal coordinator at FDA
  • Craig Wallace, private consultant

Sterilization Science Award:

  • Brian McEvoy, PhD, senior director, Global Technologies, STERIS Applied Sterilization Technologies

AAMI Technical Committees:

  • The AAMI AI Committee, co-chaired by the AMA’s Dr. Jesse Ehrenfeld, and Pat Baird of Philips
  • AAMI ST-WG95, Water Quality for Reprocessing Medical Devices

You can learn more about AAMI’s 2024 winners, their work, and their response to the announcement at AAMI News.