The National Quality Forum and The Joint Commission have announced the recipients of the annual John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards. Honorees include recipients from five award categories, including innovation in patient safety, individual achievement, and a new international category.

Mercy Hospital Anderson, Cincinnati, picked up the award for innovation in patient safety and quality at the local level. The hospital developed and implemented an automated modified early warning system (MEWS) that is applied to the physiological vital signs routinely measured by nurses capable of predicting the patient’s likelihood of deterioration.

Gary S. Kaplan, MD of the Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle, won in the individual achievement category for his efforts in adopting the basic principals of the Toyota Production System—renamed Virginia Mason Production System—which seeks to make all staff members responsible for eliminating defects in patient care.

For more information about the awards, including a complete list of 2009 recipients, visit The Joint Commission’s Web site.