The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF) have opened nominations for the 2013 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award. Applications are due to the NQF by September 30, 2013.

Established in 2002, the award program “recognizes major achievements of individuals and organizations in improving patient safety and health care quality.” Eligible organizations must be accredited by The Joint Commission, and include hospitals and “unit or business lines within an organization engaged in patient safety initiatives.” Self nominations are acceptable.

This year, awards will be given in three categories: individual achievement, national system innovation in patient safety and quality, and local system innovation. The awards will be presented at the NQF’s annual conference in Washington, DC, on February 13 and 14, 2014.

For more information, visit The Joint Commission website.