The Medical Imaging & Technology Alliance (MITA)—a trade association representing manufacturers of medical imaging equipment, radiopharmaceuticals, contrast media, and focused ultrasound therapeutic devices—announces that Acertara Acoustic Laboratories CEO, G. Wayne Moore, has been awarded this year’s Röntgen Award for his outstanding contributions to the medical imaging industry.

 “Wayne is an incredible leader who has made extremely valuable contributions to MITA and the entire medical imaging industry,” says Patrick Hope, executive director of MITA. “His vision, leadership and expertise, particularly in the complex field of medical device service and remanufacturing, have helped guide patient-centered industry initiatives and policy solutions.”

Moore has been the CEO of Acertara Acoustic Laboratories for nearly 12 years and is the current chair of both MITA’s Service Committee and its Ultrasound Section. In his 35-year career, Moore has been directly involved with the development and commercialization of new diagnostic ultrasound systems as an electrical engineer, research director, product and marketing manager and CEO.

“I’m honored to receive this prestigious MITA award and for the opportunity to contribute to industry initiatives that spark innovation and enhance patient care,” says Moore. “Working alongside my colleagues across the medical imaging community is professionally fulfilling and I’m grateful to MITA and my colleagues for their partnership.”

Named for the father of medical imaging and inventor of the x-ray, Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, the MITA Röntgen Award celebrates pioneers and leaders within MITA and the medical imaging industry. Past awardees include:

  • Elisabeth George, Philips Healthcare, 2021
  • Chuck Stearns, GE Healthcare, 2019
  • Paul Biggins, Canon Medical, 2018
  • Hans Beinke, Siemens Healthineers, 2017