Maxine Zeller and Shane Glazebrook will both receive $2,500 toward their biomed education as the first recipients of the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI) Foundation’s Michael J. Miller Scholarship Program.

The awards subcommittee selected the students based on their technical aptitude, academic excellence, and commitment to the profession.

Both Zeller, a senior at DeVry University in Phoenix, Ariz, and Glazebrook, in his second semester at Texas State Technical College’s biomedical equipment technology program in Waco, Tex, were required to submit their most recent academic transcript, an essay, and letters of recommendation.

“This award will allow me to focus on learning and growing as an engineering student rather than worrying so much about how I’m going to pay for tuition and support myself while I’m in school,” Zeller says.

More information about the scholarship program is available on the AAMI Web site.