The Joint Commission has announced the appointment of five new members to its Board of Commissioners, and two new members to its Executive Committee, which also represents the Joint Commission Center for Transforming Healthcare’s Board of Directors. These appointees are responsible for providing policy leadership and oversight to help improve patient safety and quality of care at healthcare organizations across the country.

According to the Joint Commission, the five new members named to the Board of Commissioners include American Medical Association appointees Jay Allen Gregory, MD, chief medical officer at EASTAR Health System, Muskogee, Okla, and Michael B. Simon, MD, MBA, chairman of anesthesia at Osceola Regional Medical Center, Kissimmee, Fla; American Hospital Association appointee Scott C. Malaney, president and CEO of Blanchard Valley Health System, Findlay, Ohio; public member Najmedin (Najm) Meshkati, PhD, professor of civil/environmental engineering, industrial and systems engineering, and international relations at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles; and at-large members Joseph J. Parks, MD, director of MO HealthNet, and a distinguished professor of science at the University of Missouri, St. Louis.

The two new members named to the Joint Commission’s Executive Committee and the Joint Commission Center for Transforming Healthcare’s Board of Directors are at-large member Jane D. Englebright, PhD, chief nursing executive, patient safety officer, and senior vice president at Hospital Corporation of America, Nashville, Tenn; and American Medical Association appointee Steven S. Sharfstein, MD, president and chief executive officer of Sheppard Pratt Health System, Baltimore.

The Joint Commission reports that Craig W. Jones and David L. Bronson, MD, remain chair and vice chair of the Executive Committee, respectively. In addition to Drs Englebright and Sharfstein, the other at-large members of the Executive Committee are LD Britt, MD; and David Perrott, MD, DDS, MBA.

For more information about the Joint Commission Board of Commissioners and the Joint Commission’s Executive Committee, visit the Joint Commission website.