Former South Dakota senator Tom Daschle and former Utah governor Michael O. Leavitt are among the top names appearing at the 2014 National Quality Forum Annual Conference, “Making Sense of Quality Data for Patients, Providers, and Payers.” The gathering will take place on February 13-14, 2014, at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park hotel in Washington, DC.

Sessions will focus on quality measures for improving our healthcare systems and how to make healthcare quality information more meaningful to patients and consumers. Winners of the 2013 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award will also be recognized during an awards luncheon on February 13.

Other speakers include:

  • Margaret Anderson, Executive Director of FasterCures
  • Leah Binder,  President & CEO of The Leapfrog Group
  • David Blumenthal, MD, MPP, President of The Commonwealth Fund
  • Christine K. Cassel, MD, President and CEO of the National Quality Forum
  • Avery Comarow,  Health Rankings Editor of U.S. News & World Report
  • Carol Cronin, Executive Director of the Informed Patient Institute (IPI)
  • Tom Daschle, Former Senate Majority Leader
  • “e-Patient” Dave deBronkart,  Patient Advocate
  • Susannah Fox,  Associate Director, Digital Strategy at the Pew Research Center
  • James Guest,  President and Chief Executive Officer of Consumer Reports
  • Robert Huckman, the Albert J. Weatherhead III Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School and the faculty co-chair of the HBS Healthcare Initiative
  • Mark A. Kelley, MD, Advanced Leadership Fellow, Harvard University and Former Executive Vice President and CMO, Henry Ford Health System
  • Michael Leavitt, former Governor of Utah and Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Sherri Loeb, Healthcare Professional and Patient Advocate
  • Mark McClellan, MD, PhD, Senior Fellow and Director of the Initiative on Value and Innovation in Health Care at the Brookings Institution
  • David Nash, Founding Dean of the Jefferson School of Population Health
  • Marilyn Tavenner, Administrator for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

For more information, visit National Quality Forum.