Five prominent health care leaders have recently joined the Board of Commission of The Joint Commission.

The new members are David L Bronson, MD, FACP; Benjamin Chu, MD, MPH, MACP; T Anthony Denton, JD, MHA; Mary Anne McCaffree, MD; and Mary H McGrath, MD, MPH.

David A Whiston, DDS, a practicing oral and maxillofacial surgeon from Falls Church, Va, will serve as chair of the Board of Commissioners beginning in January.  Dr Whiston is a former president of the American Dental Association. Isabel V Hoverman, MD, MACP, an internal medicine physician in private practice from Austin, Tex, will serve as vice chair.

Twenty-nine members make up The Joint Commission governing body. For more information about the members of the Board of Commission, visit The Joint Commission Web site.