AAMI has announced the 2024 AAMI and AAMI Foundation award winners, recognized for their contributions to HTM, standards development, and AAMI involvement. The awards will be presented at AAMI eXchange 2024 in Phoenix in June.

AAMI & GE Healthcare BMET of the Year

This award recognizes a biomedical equipment technician (BMET) who has demonstrated excellence in the field. The 2024 BMET of the year is Chace Torres, who began his HTM career in the U.S. Army and since moved to the private sector. He also hosts an HTM- focused podcast, The Bearded Biomed, and published the first-ever children’s book on the profession, “Ollie the Biomed.”

AAMI Bright Ideas

AAMI’s “Bright Ideas” program recognizes innovative HTM departments that are implementing creative solutions to today’s challenges. James Linton is this year’s recipient, based on his advocacy for solutions to HTM labor shortage, including his work as an educator at Ontario’s St. Claire College.

AAMI & Medcrypt Cybersecurity Visionary

The Cybersecurity Visionary Award recognizes an individual or group who has demonstrated the vision and leadership necessary to solve critical medical device cybersecurity challenges. This year’s winner is the Veterans Affairs HTM Medical Device Security Workgroup, a field-based group of volunteer biomedical engineers that supports the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). The group maintains over 140,000 medical devices distributed throughout VA medical facilities.

HTM Leadership Award 2024

This award recognizes individual excellence, achievement, and leadership in the HTM profession. The recipient of the HTM Leadership Award is Millicent Alooh, HSC, PhD. Her 15-year career in HTM in includes serving as regional director at Biomedical NEST360 and secretary general of the Association of Medical Engineering of Kenya (AMEK). She is also head of biomedical engineering at four Kenyan hospitals and is the founder of Women in Biomedical Engineering Kenya (WIBEK).

AAMI Foundation & TRIMEDX John D. Hughes Iconoclast

In honor of John Hughes, longtime AAMI member and leader, this award recognizes an individual who pushes the boundaries of the HTM profession. The 2024 winner of the AAMI Foundation & TRIMEDX Iconoclast award is Blake Collins, MBA, CBET, CHTM. In an industry often defined by different HTM departments reinventing the wheel, Collins has consistently implemented and advocated for the use of industry standards including a 2018 initiative to get his HTM department ISO 9001 certified.

AAMI Foundation Laufman-Greatbatch

This is AAMI’s most prestigious award. Named after pioneer Harold Laufman, MD and Wilson Greatbatch, PhD, it recognizes an individual or group that has made a significant contribution to the advancement of healthcare technology and systems, patient care, or patient safety. This year’s winner of the AAMI Foundation Laufman-Greatbatch award is Eamonn Hoxey, PhD. Hoxey’s storied career in HTM includes his work at the UK Department of Health and J&J and his service on AAMI’s Board of Directors and the ISO/TC 198, ISO/TC 210, and CEN/TC 204 committees.

AAMI Foundation & ACCE Robert L. Morris Humanitarian Award

The winner of the AAMI Foundation & ACCE Robert L. Morris Humanitarian Award is Clement Appiah. This award—honoring the late humanitarian Robert Morris—recognizes individuals or organizations whose humanitarian efforts used healthcare technology to improve global human conditions. Appiah has served at Ghana’s National Blood Transfusion Service and the Ministry of Health Biomedical Engineering Unit at Korlebu Teaching Hospital. He has also served at multiple hospitals and is an active contributor to NGOs such as Mercy Ships, Operation Smile, and Ghana Medical Help.

Spirit of AAMI

AAMI Board Member and St. Croix Standards Consulting principal Janet Prust is the 2024 winner of the Spirit of AAMI Award. She has over 30 years of experience in healthcare and industrial sterilization, including her work with 3M Health Care in clinical research, application support, and global scientific affairs. She has also served on the AAMI Board Executive Committee for six years, the AAMI Board of Directors for eight years, and as co-chair of the Sterilization Standards Committee.

AAMI Young Professional

This award is presented annually to a professional under the age of 40 who exhibits exemplary professional accomplishments and a commitment to the healthcare profession. Arleen Thukral is chief biomedical engineer at the VA Hospital in Fresno, Calif., and has over 10 years of experience in the development and management of technical healthcare technology management programs.